Loading Events

HANDMADE x El Mercado Cultural

Get your holiday shopping done early! 

Fleisher proudly presents HANDMADE, our annual craft market inviting Philadelphia’s artists and makers to showcase and sell their work in our historic sanctuary. We welcome Cassie Renee Peña, who will curate our list of 20+ vendors who will be dishing out their wares to those looking for unique and affordable holiday gifts. This year, HANDMADE will be presented in collaboration with El Mercado Cultural, a Fleisher initiative focused on sharing creative and marketing resources with Latinx entrepreneurs.

Shoppers can expect high quality handmade goods from a variety of mediums that include fabric, clay, glass, wood, paper, and much more.  The show will highlight Fleisher teaching artists and students as well as a selection of local artists and craftsmen.  Enjoy food by Philly Tacos (@Philly_Tacos) and coffee from Persimmon Coffee (@persimmoncoffee)!

About the curator

Cassie Renee Peña’s work attempts to reconcile the barbarism of western civilization and its continuous attempt to ‘other’ cultures outside of a Judeo-Christian context through the exploration of iconography, mythology, antiquities, Tinder, and Jester’s Privilege. While existing in the historical context of American empire decline and the internet, her work also operates as self-mocking diary entries regarding the complications and navigation of human existence. Utilizing non-European clay coil-building techniques to create ancient Greek forms in porcelain, a clay body generally associated with wealth, Peña’s work nods to the history of craft while maintaining a lack of self-serious refinement. She resides in Philadelphia, PA.

This year’s vendors include:

ArtesinA: @artesinagroup

@artesania_gustemalteca_de_ana

Goods and Bads: @goodsandbadsstudio

Cynthia Bayer

Herbal Jawn Apothecary: @herbaljawn

Mason Carter + Olivia Duffy: @masonfromblendini + @PortOlivia

By Ren: @by.ren

Uh-Huh Design Studio: @shopuhhuh

Fleisher Art Memorial Open Studio Potters

Fleisher Art Memorial Staff

Fleisher Art Memorial Teen Lounge

Lili Daliessio Designs: @lilidaliessiodesigns

Signature Books & Accessories: @signature_books

Pejo Goshni by Maria Hernandez: @pejo_goshni

Moonlight Arte: @moonlight_arte

Guille

Patrick Griffin @griffin.pottery

Charlotte Holt Art: @charlotteholt.art

Frances Iadarola: @francesiadarola

V Israel Ceramics: @v_israel_ceramics

Everywwwhere: @everywwwhere

Rachel Kedinger + Victoria Ahmadizadeh Melendez: @rkedinger + @internet___angel

Katrina Kopeloff Illustration: @kopeloff

Who Press’d Press: @whopressdpress

Box Turtle Press @boxturtlepress

Karen Kriegel: @karenkriegel

LazoWorld: @lazo_world22

Tombino: @tombinoshop

Luis: @mochibaybags

Reyna Navarro: @artesani_mundo_de_queen

Charnelle Nixon: @gift.well001

Patricia Patzi Art: @patzi.patzi

Leslie Richards: @leslie.richards.art

Lost Mirage: @lost.mirage

Madeline Mae Studios: @madelinemae_studios

Magic Needles Mari: @magic_needles_mari

Magico Artemez: @magicoartemez

Mexico Art: @mxheartde

Our Hope: @_ourhope

Mary Schneider: @marydotart

Jillian Schley: @jillianschley

Gabrielle Silverlight: @gabriellesilverlight

Holly Simple: @holly_simple

Small Print Studio: @_jackie.small

Spuul: @spuul215

Juan Tang Hon: @juandtang

Tenangos Philly: @tenangosphilly

Trina’s Jabones

Linda Abd Ulbaki: @creacioneslindausa

Venbisustore: @venbisustore

Julieta Zavala: @julietazavala

Jane Zweibel Studio: @janiejanez