Celebrate Fleisher! 31st Founder’s Award Honoring Dr. Constance Clayton

Honorary Co-Chairs:
Gail Harrity
Nicole Allen White

Please note that the celebration of the Founder’s Award has been postponed. We hope to gather in person or virtually in spring 2021 to honor the remarkable achievements of Dr. Clayton, and share the impact of Fleisher’s efforts to educate and inspire young artists during this challenging time.

The health and well-being of our vibrant community of supporters and artists has long been Fleisher Art Memorial’s top priority, and it continues to inform our decision making as the COVID-19 pandemic unfolds globally. All gifts received will be dedicated to naming a program in Dr. Clayton’s honor,in the spirit of her passion for inspiring future generations of artists. Fleisher is grateful for the generous contributions from our community:


  • Jolley Bruce Christman


  • James D. Crawford and Judith N. Dean

  • James and Keith B. Straw


  • Glenmede Trust

  • Liz Price

  • Judith Tannenbaum

  • Arnold Weiss


  • AMJ Foundation

  • Atkin Olshin Schade Architects

  • Helen Cunningham

  • Alan and Greta Greenberger

  • Victoria and Don Levinson

  • Marsha and Jim Moss

Fleisher Art Memorial is proud to honor Dr. Constance E. Clayton with the 31st Founder’s Award. The award recognizes individuals who have made a significant commitment to providing access to the arts, promoting excellence in creative expression, and enriching Philadelphia’s cultural resources.

Dr. Clayton is a renowned educator, civic leader, and arts advocate with an unwavering commitment to helping children succeed. Among her many achievements, Dr. Clayton was the first African American and the first woman to lead the School District of Philadelphia. She served as superintendent for 11 years before she retired in 1993. Since her retirement, Dr. Clayton has made a remarkable impact on the arts. She served on the board of the Philadelphia Museum of Art and established the Constance E. Clayton Fellowship, which provides African American scholars with an opportunity to gain experience at the museum in preparation for a career as a curator or educator. In 2019, Dr. Clayton contributed more than 70 works to the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, on view in the exhibition Awakened in You, accessible to thousands of Philadelphia schoolchildren and inspiring future artists, collectors, and museum audiences with work that speaks to the human experience.

The Founder’s Award Celebration is Fleisher’s most significant annual fundraising event to support its award-winning arts education programs that help young artists find their creative voice. Your support will be a meaningful tribute to Dr. Clayton and will support Fleisher’s nationally-renowned programs that engage children hailing from more than 200 diverse schools in the region, including 20 in-school artist-residencies with teaching artists.

Questions? Contact Leah Gelb, Donor Engagement Officer, at 215-922-3456 ext. 326 or lgelb@fleisher.org.

Event Committee

  • Jane M. Allsopp

  • Suzanne Sheehan Becker

  • Diane Burko

  • Elizabeth Grimaldi

  • Gabriele W. Lee

  • Karen A. Melikian

  • Marsha Moss

  • Rebecca O’Leary

  • Anna Tas

Past Recipients

  • Diane Burko, 2019

  • Dr. Carmen Febo San Miguel & Gayle Isa, 2018

  • Marsha Moss, 2017

  • Dr. Dennis W. Creedon, 2016

  • Louise Clement-Hoff, 2015

  • Helen Cunningham & Ted Newbold, 2014

  • Dina & Jerry Wind, 2013

  • Jill & Sheldon Bonovitz, 2012

  • Al West & Paige West, 2011

  • Carole Haas Gravagno, 2010

  • Louis Massiah, Pepón Osorio, & Lily Yeh, 2009

  • Peggy Amsterdam & Karen Davis, 2008

  • Anne d’Harnoncourt, 2007

  • James Nelson Kise, James Bennett Straw, & David A. Schultz, 2006

  • Frank & Betty Louchheim, 2005

  • Suzanne Fleisher Roberts, 2004

  • Dr. Luther W. Brady, Jr., 2003

  • Thora Jacobson, 2002

  • Happy Fernandez, 2001

  • Linda Lee Alter, 2000

  • Hon. Edward G. Rendell, 1999

  • Marian Locks, 1998

  • Joseph Rishel, 1997

  • Dorothy R. B. Manou & Melinda Whiting, 1996

  • Ella King Torrey, 1995

  • Helen W. Drutt English, 1994

  • Edna Andrade & William Parshall, 1993

  • Penny Balkin Bach & Jody Pinto, 1992

  • Judith Tannenbaum, 1991

  • Frank Gasparro, 1990

Celebrate Fleisher! 31st Founder's Award Honoring Dr. Constance Clayton is generously supported by: