Faculty Fellowship Exhibition

On view August 19—September 13, 2024
Closing Reception: September 13, 2024

The Dene M. Louchheim Fellow: Hanna Vogel

Hanna Vogel is an artist, writer, and teacher living and working in Philadelphia. Born and raised in rural northern California, she received an MFA from the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and a BFA from the California College of the Arts. She has shown her work nationally and internationally, and has presented at conferences and published papers internationally.

The Louchheim Fellowship was created in memory of Dene Louchheim, former Chairperson of the Fleisher Art Memorial from 1964 to 1980, and spouse of Stuart Louchheim, Samuel Fleisher’s nephew. The Louchheim Fellow is selected biannually through a juried process with an award amount of $1,000.

Image credit: Hanna Vogel, Elsewhere, Steel wire, paper pulp, rust, sealant, 54” x 62” x 108”, 2017

The Fred and Naomi Hazell Awardee: Mark Dilks

Mark Dilks is a multidisciplinary creator and collaborator. As a trained painter with a background in collage, physical touch, materiality, and accumulated sampling play strongly in Mark’s life and work. They have organized happenings, hosted group shows, and created environmental experiences. Ventures in sounds include analog collages, abstract songs and modular synthesizer patches. In May 2023, The Pottery Gym hosted Mark’s first solo painting show, May For by Fours Witness Cherry’s Blossoms Ring. The work is a result of a passionate concern for tactility and reverberation within the everyday. Mark is an alum of the University of Pennsylvania (MFA ’13) and of Hampshire College (BA ’05).

The Fred and Naomi Hazell Art Award was established by artist, musician, poet and craftswoman Naomi Hazell to support the artistic growth and excellence of painters working in oils. The Hazell Awardee is for oil painters only and selected biannually through a juried process with an award amount of $1,000.

Image credit: Mark Dilks, Loyal Lion Broken Bench (detail), oil/denim, 25 x 20 inches, 2021.

About the Juror: Ying Li

Ying Li is an American artist and educator. She is the Phlyssa Koshland Professor of Fine Arts at Haverford College. She was born in Beijing, China, immigrated to the United States in 1983.

Li is represented by Pamela Salisbury Gallery in Hudson, NY; Gross McCleaf Gallery in Philadelphia and Alice Gauvin Gallery in Portland, Maine.

Li’s work has been reviewed in The New York Times, The New Yorker, Art Forum, Art in America, New York Sun, The Philadelphia Inquirer, Hyperallergic, artcritical, The Washington Post, among others.

Award Criteria:

  • Applicants should have been employed as Fleisher Faculty during the previous 24-month period (June 2021– June 2023) and taught a minimum of two courses.

  • Awardees shall use the funds to support investment in artist’s materials, the hiring of models, professional development, or work-related travel.

  • Former recipients are not allowed to apply.

  • In conjunction with the award, each artist shall exhibit a current or recent body of work at Fleisher during August-September 2024 and available to install the exhibition between August 12 and August 16, 2024.

  • Applicants may only apply for one of the two awards, the Dene M. Louchheim Fellowship or the Fred and Naomi Hazell Award.